Baynatna and Fann
ContactRamy Al-Asheq

SEND EMAIL

Baynatna & FANN

Arabic arts and culture in the centre of Berlin: Baynatna, the Arabic library, and the Arabic-German cultural magazine FANN are recipients of The Power of the Arts award in 2020. WIR MACHEN DAS has been the supporting association of both projects since July 2020.

Baynatna, the Arabic library in Berlin, and FANN, the Arab-German cultural magazine, were founded as grassroots projects in 2016 and 2017. In a very short time, both projects have developed into important forums for exchange and encounters. For the Arabic-speaking community, these are places where they can continue their artistic and cultural activities. For the rest of German society, they provide opportunities to get to know the diversity of contemporary, as well as historical, Arabic-speaking cultures.

Since July 2020, WIR MACHEN DAS has been the supporting association of Baynatna and FANN and supports the two projects in the areas of networking, project management and the acquisition of funding. The teams from Baynatna and Fann retain complete control over the content and curation of projects.

On 10 November 2020, both projects were awarded The Power of the Arts Award, presented by Philip Morris GmbH. From more than 130 submissions, the jury of The Power of the Arts selected “ten lighthouse projects with exemplary character”, from all over Germany. The award explicitly supports cultural projects that work toward an open society.

The founders of Baynatna are the Syrian activist Muhannad Qaiconie, the director of the Gunda Werner Institute at the Heinrich Böll Foundation Dr Ines Kappert, the Jordanian architecture student Dana Haddad and the Syrian musician and contemporary artist Ali Hasan. FANN Magazine was founded by the Syrian-Palestinian author Ramy Al-Asheq and the German translator and editor Lilian Pithan. Together, FANN and Baynatna organise the annual Arabic-German Literature Days, which was last held at Baynatna in Berlin’s central city library (ZLB) in 2019.

We would like to thank our partners „Freunde Arabischer Kunst und Kultur e. V.“ (FAKUK) in Heidelberg for their support in the development of FANN Magazine and their work in this context since December 2017. FANN maintains a strong partnership with FAKUK, who have been promoting the Arab-German cultural exchange dedicated to the common good for 20 years. https://www.arabischekultur.de/

More information about Baynatna

More information about FANN

More information about the Arabic-German Literature Days

Banyatna - The Arabic library in BerlinFANN magazine

Power of the Arts Award 2020

Freunde arabischer Kunst und Kultur e.V.

© David Frank, für The Power of the Arts, eine Initiative der Philip Morris GmbH
AnsprechpartnerRamy Al-Asheq

E-MAIL SENDEN
© Juliette Moarbes

Baynatna & FANN

Arabischsprachige Kunst und Kultur in der Mitte Berlins: Baynatna, die arabische Bibliothek, und das arabisch-deutsche Kulturmagazin FANN sind Preisträger von The Power of the Arts 2020. WIR MACHEN DAS ist seit Juli 2020 der Trägerverein der beiden Projekte.

Baynatna – die arabische Bibliothek in Berlin und FANN – das arabisch-deutsche Kulturmagazin, wurden 2016 und 2017 als Graswurzelprojekte gegründet. Beide Projekte haben sich in kürzester Zeit zu bedeutenden Foren des Austauschs und der Begegnung entwickelt – für die arabischsprachige Gemeinschaft sind sie Orte, um weiterhin künstlerisch-kulturell tätig zu sein, für die deutsche Mehrheitsgesellschaft bieten sie die Chance, die Vielfalt zeitgenössischer wie auch historischer arabischsprachiger Kultur kennenzulernen.

Seit Juli 2020 ist WIR MACHEN DAS der Trägerverein von Baynatna und FANN und unterstützt die beiden Projekte bei der Netzwerkarbeit, im Projektmanagement und in der Akquise von Fördergeldern. Die inhaltliche Gestaltung und die Kuration von Projekten bleiben dabei komplett bei den Projektteams von Baynatna und Fann.

Beide Projekte wurden am 10. November 2020 mit dem The Power of the Arts Award 2020 ausgezeichnet, der von der Philip Morris GmbH verliehen wird. Aus über 130 Einreichungen wählte die Jury von The Power of the Arts zehn Leuchtturmprojekte mit Vorbildcharakter aus, verteilt über ganz Deutschland. Der Preis unterstützt explizit Kulturprojekte, die sich für eine offene Gesellschaft einsetzen.

Die Gründer*innen von Baynatna sind der syrische Aktivist Muhannad Qaiconie, die Leiterin des Gunda-Werner-Instituts der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung Dr. Ines Kappert und die jordanische Architekturstudentin Dana Haddad und der syrische Musiker und zeitgenössische Künstler Ali Hasan. Das FANN Magazin wurde von dem syrisch-palästinensischen Autor Ramy Al-Asheq und der deutschen Übersetzerin und Redakteurin Lilian Pithan gegründet. Gemeinsam veranstalten FANN und Baynatna die jährlich stattfindenden Arabisch-deutschen Literaturtage, die zuletzt 2019 bei Baynatna in der Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB) stattfanden.

Herzlichen Dank gilt unseren Partnern von „Freunde Arabischer Kunst und Kultur e. V.“ (FAKUK) in Heidelberg für ihre Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung des FANN-Magazins und ihre wertvolle Arbeit in diesem Kontext seit Dezember 2017. FANN pflegt eine starke Partnerschaft mit FAKUK, die seit 20 Jahren einen dem Gemeinwohl gewidmeten arabisch-deutschen Kulturaustausch fördern. https://www.arabischekultur.de/

Mehr Informationen zu Baynatna

Mehr Informationen zu FANN

Mehr Informationen zu den Arabisch-deutschen Literaturtagen

BaynatnaFANN-Magazin

The Power of the Arts Award 2020

Freunde arabischer Kunst und Kultur e.V.