Foto für Meet Your Neighbours von Dominik Butzmann
© Dominik Butzmann
Aylin Karadeniz
Aylin Karadeniz

Project Manager "Meet Your Neighbours

SEND EMAIL

Meet Your Neighbors - Dialogue strengthens social Solidarity

Meet Your Neighbors is a project that initiates and promotes conversations between people with and without a history of migration across Germany. The aims of the project are:

  • to enable dialogue and exchange on an equal footing,
  • to strengthen people with a history of migration and flight and increase their participation in society,
  • to promote democratic coexistence and social solidarity, and
  • to connect people, actors and organisations with each other.

The focus is on the topic of “work” – a topic in which individual skills, hopes and desires as well as social structures, barriers and hurdles become visible. Meet Your Neighbors broadens the view to include people who have immigrated or fled to Germany for a wide variety of reasons: The focus is on their expertise and strengths, which they can contribute to society.

Meet Your Neighbors conceives and organises events together with associations, initiatives and migrant self-organizations. In various narrative formats, people with migration and refugee history report on their experiences:

How do they connect to their own biographical history after arriving in Germany?
What goals and wishes do they have for their future?
What can we learn from each other?

Meet Your Neighbors encourages people with migration and refugee history to speak up and take space for their own narrative and story. People from the neighbourhood are invited to listen and meet them.

The events mainly take place in rural areas: Until 2023, the project will focus on the Ruhr area, Brandenburg and Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania.

What Meet Your Neighbours changes

At Meet Your Neighbors, people with shared and different experiences meet in a safe space. This can create networking and relationship opportunities that can have a positive effect on local social cohesion.

A major objective of Meet Your Neighbours is to derive and formulate political demands from the stories and experiences of people with migration and refugee histories. Local politics is therefore actively involved in the project in order to facilitate existing access to structures, networks and work.

What Meet Your Neighbours has achieved so far

Since 2016 Meet Your Neighbours has organised over 60 events throughout Germany. Amongst others we have been in Berlin, Bonn, Bremen, Bruchsal, Dresden, Hamburg, Heidelberg, Jena, Cologne, Mainz, Munich, Nienburg/Weser, Rostock, Stralsund, Wismar, Bergen on Rügen and Greifswald. In addition, a Meet Your Neighbours festival was held in Munich’s Monacensia at the beginning of 2018. All events have shown how enriching diversity is. We are holding on to that!

Participate

We welcome anyone who wants to get involved in the Meet Your Neighbours project. If you want to get involved and organise an event in your own town or in your own bookshop, library or community centre, do not hesitate to get in touch.

Meet Your Neighbours is a project from WIR MACHEN DAS / wearedoingit e.V. funded by the Stiftung Mercator.

Logo der Stiftung Mercator

We would like to thank our cooperation partners from the previous project phases: Fonds Soziokultur, Allianz Kulturstiftung and Stiftung :do.

Fonds Soziokultur

Auftakt der bundesweiten Veranstaltungsreihe in der Tuchholsky Buchhandlung in Berlin am 27.01.2016. Foto: Dominik Butzmann
© Dominik Butzmann
Aylin Karadeniz, Projektleiterin von Meet Your Neighbours
Aylin Karadeniz

Projektleiterin "Meet Your Neighbours

E-MAIL SENDEN

Meet Your Neighbours – Dialog stärkt sozialen Zusammenhalt

Meet Your Neighbours ist ein Projekt, das deutschlandweit Gespräche zwischen Menschen mit und ohne Migrations- und Fluchtgeschichte initiiert und fördert. Die Ziele des Projektes sind es,

  • Dialog und einen Austausch auf Augenhöhe zu ermöglichen,
  • Menschen mit Migrations- und Fluchtgeschichte zu stärken und ihre gesellschaftliche Teilhabe zu erhöhen,
  • ein demokratisches Miteinander und sozialen Zusammenhalt zu fördern und
  • Menschen, Akteur*innen und Organisationen miteinander zu vernetzen.

Im Mittelpunkt steht das Thema „Arbeit“ – ein Thema an dem sowohl individuelle Fähigkeiten, Hoffnungen und Wünsche als auch gesellschaftliche Strukturen, Barrieren und Hürden sichtbar werden. Meet Your Neighbours weitet den Blick auf Menschen, die aus den unterschiedlichsten Gründen nach Deutschland eingewandert oder geflohen sind: Im Fokus stehen ihre Expertise und ihre Stärken, die sie in ihr Umfeld und die Gesellschaft einbringen können.

Meet Your Neighbours konzipiert und organisiert Veranstaltungen gemeinsam mit Vereinen, Initiativen und Migrant*innenselbstorganisationen. In verschiedenen Erzählformaten berichten Menschen mit Migrations- und Fluchtgeschichte von ihren Erfahrungen:

Wie knüpfen sie nach ihrer Ankunft in Deutschland an ihre eigene biografische Geschichte an?
Welche Ziele und Wünsche haben sie für ihre Zukunft?
Was können wir voneinander lernen?

Meet Your Neighbours ermutigt Menschen mit Migrations- und Fluchtgeschichte selbst das Wort zu ergreifen und sich Raum für die eigene Erzählung und Geschichte zu nehmen. Menschen aus der Nachbarschaft sind eingeladen, ihnen zuzuhören und zu begegnen.

Die Veranstaltungen finden vor allem im ländlichen Raum statt: Bis zum Jahr 2023 konzentriert sich das Projekt auf das Ruhrgebiet, Brandenburg und Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Was Meet Your Neighbours ändert

Bei Meet Your Neighbours begegnen sich Menschen mit geteilten und unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen in einem geschützten Raum. Dadurch können Netzwerke und Beziehungen entstehen, die sich positiv auf den sozialen Zusammenhalt vor Ort auswirken können.

Ein wesentliches Anliegen von Meet Your Neighbours ist es aus den Erzählungen und Erfahrungen der Menschen mit Migrations- und Fluchtgeschichte politische Forderungen abzuleiten und zu formulieren. Die Lokalpolitik wird daher aktiv in das Projekt einbezogen, um bestehende Zugänge zu Strukturen, Netzwerken und Arbeit zu erleichtern.

Was Meet Your Neighbours erreicht hat

Seit 2016 hat Meet Your Neighbours über 60 Veranstaltungen in ganz Deutschland organisiert. Unter anderem waren wir in Berlin, Bonn, Bremen, Bruchsal, Dresden, Hamburg, Heidelberg, Jena, Köln, Mainz, München, Nienburg/Weser, Rostock, Stralsund, Wismar, Bergen auf Rügen und Greifswald. Außerdem fand Anfang 2018 ein Meet Your Neighbours-Festival in der Münchner Monacensia statt. Alle Veranstaltungen haben gezeigt, wie bereichernd Vielfalt ist. Daran halten wir fest!

Mitmachen

Wir freuen uns über jede*n, die*der sich im Rahmen von Meet Your Neighbours einbringen will. Wer selbst aktiv werden und im eigenen Ort oder in der eigenen Buchhandlung, Bibliothek oder im eigenen Gemeindezentrum eine Veranstaltung organisieren möchte, kann uns gerne jederzeit kontaktieren.

Meet Your Neighbours ist ein Projekt von WIR MACHEN DAS / wearedoingit e.V., gefördert durch die Stiftung Mercator.

Logo der Stiftung Mercator

Wir danken unseren Kooperationspartner*innen aus den vorigen Projektphasen: Fonds Soziokultur, der Allianz Kulturstiftung und der Stiftung :do.

Fonds Soziokultur